Easy Food: Pesto-Bean Wrap

I don’t cook — no time, no inclination, no natural talent. But I’ve got to eat. So any food things I make need to be fairly low in their time commitment and domestic skills requirements.

Back in March, I saw this recipe on Thug Kitchen (fyi: swear warning) for wraps with black beans and pesto. It sounded healthy and tasty, but homemade pesto? Complicated. Also, no food processor. Anyway…

It occurred to me that I could try a similar combination with pre-made pesto, right? So this is what I tried:

2 14-oz cans of black beans, drained & rinsed
1 12-oz can of corn
4 large scoops (heaping Tbsp) of pesto
approx. 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
wrapped in tortillas (sundried tomato flavour, for what it’s worth)

Preparation took about as long as you’d expect to open three cans, grate some cheese, and stir a few times.

Very filling, nice and cool on a too-hot summer night, and it made plenty for dinnertime with enough left over for my lunch today.

Next time, I think I’ll try some add-ins like tomato and avocado, but won’t mix them into the bean dish because I suspect that would wreck its next-day appeal. Sour cream might go nicely too. It was fine just plain, though (organic canned veg, best quality Parmesan, and a very nice brand of fresh pesto probably contributed to that).

And all things considered, a quick meal so I can get back to writing is my main concern.

One thought on “Easy Food: Pesto-Bean Wrap

  1. Katie Cross says:

    Anything with pesto has my name all over it!

Leave a Reply

